5 of the Biggest Weight Loss “Lies” and How I Fixed Them!

Having been plagued by extra weight during my teens, I had been trying to lose weight for years.  I went round and round trying everything from diet programs, pills, detoxes, books, nutritionists and so on.  Finally, I became a nutritional counselor myself and got to see the research and studies behind weight and weight loss.  Since then, I was able to see my pitfalls, apply new ideas and spread the word on what really works and what does not.

For most, it’s not as complicated as mainstream beliefs had made us think.  Below, I have outlined a few of the major weight loss “lies” I thought were truths.

1.  Ate things that said “diet” on the label.  Most products marketed for weight loss do exactly the opposite.  Diet foods are packaged to be calorie restricted and are made of ingredients that are highly refined.  Many of these products are made with soy or milk proteins that screwed with my hormone levels and made me gain. Now, when I see something marked “diet” I stay away.

2.  Drank things that said “diet” on the label.  I thought I was doing myself a favor by having diet sodas instead of regular, milkshakes made of yogurt not ice cream, protein drinks in cans or even sports drinks. Instead what was happening is that these drinks were creating inflammation and extra bloat.   We have research to show that artificial sweeteners raise insulin levels and in the end, create weight gain.

3.  Out-ate my work out.  I thought that when I overate, I could “get rid” of the extra calories by working out for longer periods of time.  Well, my body didn’t work that way.  I couldn’t work out hard enough to get rid of the inflammation and hormonal effects of the foods that were wreaking havoc on my health.

4.  Believed that hunger was just part of the process.  In no way did hunger help me.  Ever.  Hunger only made me eat.  When I restricted enough to make myself hungry, I was, in essence, playing with fire.  Only when I was satiated and went to a meal like a human being, not a voracious animal, was I able to make choices that served me.

5.  Beat myself up.  When I didn’t lose weight, or failed at a program, I blamed myself.  Now I know that you blame the program.

Looking to create a nutrition weight loss plan that works for you? Let’s talk!

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in weight loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

