Accomplish One of These Small Steps This Week and Watch Your Life Improve!

Sometimes it only takes a cue, a little trigger to change your life and walk towards your goals.  There are tons of articles and blogs out there, showing you how to change your entire life.  Sometimes the steps they discuss are enticing and you get lured in by the promises.  There is this huge temptation to take it on with gusto and bravado.  So, off you go, buying new kitchen appliances and workout gear.  Slowly, though, as the days or weeks go by, the new step climber starts to collect dust and the junk food that you have sworn off starts creeping back in.

So, how about this, what if we just took small steps?  What if we just broke this whole “new life” thing down to smaller steps.  What then?  What if we could do what we could do and stay there until we feel the need to take on the next step?

I’ll tell you about one of “small steps” I took.  A few years ago, on my journey, I came across Joel Furhman’s work.  I read 2 of his books back to back and watched one of his webinars.  “Genius,” I thought!  “Brilliant”  “I want to do that!”  But, trouble was, I was still doing animal protein and didn’t want to let go of the oils.  So, I started doing his food program, but I added in the proteins and the oil.  I learned a ton!  I stepped forward!  I learned to eat tons of produce.  I learned what kind of produce I liked.  I learned what produce traveled well.  (dates, apples, grapes, rice cakes….) I lost some weight.  My skin looked better.  My mood improved.  A couple of years later, I was ready to let go of the animal protein.  I figure that as long as you are improving, you are not going backward.  So, I am listing some easy to do “next steps” you might want to consider for your journey.

1.  Use your Sundays to package up salads.  Get yourself 4 or 5 salad containers and wash and chop your veggies for those days.  Then, when you get up in the morning, you have more of a “grab and go” meal, rather than using that time to wash your carrots!

2.  Make chili and freeze it for the week.  Making chili, whether made stovetop or in a slow cooker, is a great way to have an easy meal for your week.  I usually freeze 3/4 of it in individual zip locks so I have it the rest of the week. Putting chili over a baked potato, cut greens or brown rice makes a great and filling meal.

3.  Trade up ingredients.  Buy Celtic sea salt and throw out the white refined salt.  Get Bragg’s Amino Acids and throw out your soy sauce.  Replace white or wine vinegar with Apple Cider Vinegar.  Replace white quick cook rice with brown rice.  Use real olive oil instead of vegetable oil.

4.  Buy big containers of greens and freeze them!  Buying spinach or baby kale leaves is sometimes depressing when they go bad before you go through them all.  Feel free to bag them up in freezer bags and freeze them.  Then, you can easily add greens to cooked soups or chili to increase the nutrients and protein.

5.  Freeze lemon juice for hot lemon water in the am.  I have posted many blogs and videos on this idea.  I love the idea of hot lemon water in the morning.  Talk about ultra hydrating and alkalizing! (These were made with lemon, ginger, and parsley. Yum!)

6.  Drink Yerba Mate.  Yerba has incredible healing properties.  Consider trading out your energy drinks or sweetened coffee drinks with Yerba mate.

7.  Use fat-free, sugar-free salsa.  Salsa is a great way to spice things up.  Top steamed vegetables with a couple of tablespoons of salsa.  When cooking soup, use a cup of salsa to season it after you turn the flame off.  Use salsa at the end of cooking beans.  Stir fresh salsa into the pot of cooked beans.  This is a great, oil-free way to add a big punch of flavor to your foods.

8.  Drink water!  “The solution to pollution is dilution.”  If you are wanting to detox, you don’t have to do much more then drink water.  If you are addicting to sports or energy drinks, drink a glass of water in between.  Get used to the taste of water.  Water is the main way the body hydrates itself.

9.  Reduce trigger foods.  Cravings don’t just happen, they are “created.”  So, start getting curious about your cravings. When do they come?  What do you crave?  What meal do they come after?  Notice when you don’t have cravings and pay attention to what you have eaten.  Most of the time, cravings come from an imbalance of the foods that you have eaten during the 24 hour before the cravings hit.  Working this way, you might come at a healthier lifestyle from a place of choice, rather than “white knuckling” it.

For more tips and tricks like these, consider getting a nutrition consult from Ana.  Skype and phone call sessions available.  Please visit www.mindfulnutrition.net

You can contact her using the form here, too! She will get right back to you.

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Cooking Ahead of Time, mindful nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

