Mindful Nutrition: Getting Back On Track

vegetables-1212845_960_720Got back a few days ago and still getting my bearings. We had a ton of people over for New Years, so I had a great chance to cook and prep. Feeling so much better. Today is my first day back to yoga which I am both dreading and so looking forward to!

Day 1:
I soaked a large package of split peas to make a soup today. (See recipe at the bottom.)

AM – large mason jar of warm lemon water and yerba mate
Breakfast – bananas and dates
Lunch – baked potatoes, veggie soup (recipe below)
Snack – red delicious apples with skin (organic)
Dinner – split pea soup.

Recipe Suggestions
• I do not use veggie stock! Why waste money, when the vegetables you cut will make their own stock?!
• I use the same base for almost every recipe. There is no oil at all in this. I cut the veggies and put in the pot, cover with water and simmer; onions, carrots, and celery.
This is where the stock comes from and how the soup gets chunky.
• I practice what I call “Peasant Cooking” which to me means that I do not use recipes, I don’t do exact measurements and I trust that veggies will taste yummy by themselves. So, my soups are super easy to make.

Split Pea Soup
1) Vegetable Soup Base (mentioned above)
2) Soaked Split Peas – I soak for 24 hours and rinse in the middle a few times. This allows the peas to soften and also release some enzymes. In addition, some people that I know with gas, get less of that feeling when I soak!
3) Cover completely with water.
4) Cook the veggie base and the peas for about 2 hours on low or until the peas are cooked.
5) Season to taste at the end. This will need salt, but you can also add a variety of other spices like basil and oregano.

Veggie Soup
1) Vegetable Soup Base (mentioned above)
2) Four large cut up tomatoes or a can or organic chopped tomatoes
3) 1 large head of cauliflower – cut this into smaller chunks.
4) Now to get creative – open your refrigerator and add any other vegetable that you want to get rid of! Strong beans, broccoli, cabbage. You can’t mess this up.
5) Cover completely with water.
6) Cook for about an hour
7) Season at the end with sea salt, garlic and any other seasonings.

There you have it. I will eat pretty simply like this for a few days. The more I eat my own food, the better I feel.

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in cooking at home, mindful nutrition, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

