Please Visit Your Local Animal Sanctuary

Mindful Nutrition - Vegan 2 Yesterday I visited Burleigh Manor Animal Sanctuary with my family. This is a place that takes in unwanted farm animals, peoples’ pets that got too big, or animals that were senselessly being sent to slaughter.

My daughter and I got to snuggle with bunnies, goats, cows, sheep, horses and my favorite – the pigs! I am still floating on air. I loved every second of it. Each of these furry souls had such different personalities and needs. I was struck by the sanctuary’s owners. They had named each and every one of the animals and knew what their likes and dislikes were. This was one of the most fun days ever!

Couldn’t help but be struck by the idea that there are some people who look at these souls and kill them for food or discard them because they have lost an emotional connection with them. How is it, that we as humans can turn our emotions off like that? How can we see these gentle beings as food?

I know… I am an animal hugger, an extremist, a PETA supporter. But, really, when you stand next to them, and take in who they are as living beings – it will change your perspective. Please visit an animal sanctuary in your area. You will never look at bacon in the same way.

Mindful Nutriton - Vegan

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Getting Kids to Eat Healthy, Plant Based Diet, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Please Visit Your Local Animal Sanctuary

  1. Lauren Redmond says:

    Thank you for sharing your experience, Ana! It really inspired me to visit a farm sanctuary with my family soon! Love the cute pics!

  2. Going to an animal sanctuary is on my to do list. I’m researching where some of them are located in Idaho. Thanks for sharing your experience with those of us that don’t have one nearby!

Leave a Reply

