Getting Back On Track After Vacation

Screen Shot 2016-06-28 at 9.46.27 AMThese past two weeks, I have been with my family in Argentina. It has been an incredible trip with tons of love and laughter. I connect with my heart and soul here in a way that is indescribable. Feeling very grateful to be blessed with such loving people in my life. They are a gift to me.

My daughter gets totally loved up here also. She is squeezed and hugged and kissed in a way that she would never be in the States. There is a different sense of intimacy and personal space here for sure. This has been good for her too. It’s as if her “tank” has been filled with all the attention and adoration.

I am forever grateful to everyone here for teaching and giving us so much. We leave tomorrow, and while it’s time for me to return to my life, I am incredibly sad.

Seeing the USA through this lens has always been eye opening. I am asked about Trump, about Hilary, about what I eat, my work, and my life. I had to justify the fact that most people I know had no idea there was an important soccer match played this week in New Jersey that united a hemisphere in excitement and sports. All of this is so hard to explain.Since this is a page about food, I wanted to talk a bit about that also. I had to soften around my choices here. It was either inconvenience others, go without, turn my life inside out, or go with the flow more. I decided the latter.

With some boundaries, I decided to eat what was cooked for me, be easy about restaurant choices and not send food back. I decided that I would be gentle on myself and not be judgmental of others. I decided to lighten up and enjoy the company around me rather than dream about being in my home, eating the food I wanted, and missing out on this incredible experience.

So, because of all of this, old symptoms have returned and I thought I would share this whole experience with you to see if you too have these things. I will go through a detox week when I get back and share what I am doing with all of you. Maybe if I do it along with you, you will be encouraged to take some steps in the direction of your wellness, whatever that means to you! In the next few days, let’s get a prep going. When I get home, I will go to the market first thing.

Let me share with you what I will be getting…

Lemons to make lemon ice cubes to quickly assemble my hot morning lemon water. To make it super duper detoxifying, I will add parsley and ginger to them. This is easy…. fill your blender with as many peeled lemons as you can, put in a couple “thumb-size” pieces of ginger and a bunch of parsley. No need for water in this blend. Blend and separate into ice cube trays. Once frozen, pop out and place in Ziplock bag for your morning routine.
Parsley for lemon cubes and salads
Ginger for lemon cubes
Bunches of bananas for my smoothies or “nice dream.” You should see the checkout people giving me the “stink-eye” when I am in the check out line. I have had the most interesting comments. But, really what I do is buy a whole bunch of bananas, ripen them all at once, peel and freeze in Ziplock bags. In fact, I did this before I left so that now when I get home, I have enough ripened and frozen bananas that will last me until this next batch ripens. Make sense? The trick is to always have things in the pipeline!
Frozen berries for smoothies
Spinach and Kale for smoothies
Greens for salads
Tomatoes (really looking forward to ripe Baltimore tomatoes – can’t wait!)
Cucumbers – so refreshing and balancing. I find that when I eat cucumbers at lunch, I am more satisfied throughout the day.
Watermelons are going to be one of the main ingredients in my detox! I will eat melon for some meals and also with snacks. The trick to melon is to eat it by itself or with greens only. If not, beware of the watermelon baby!!!

So…. go to the market, stock up and I will be back with you in a few short days and kick this thing off. It’s going to be easy peasy lemon squeezy. I promise!!

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Eating Out, Healthful Food Choices, Nutrition, travel, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

