Winding Path Toward Self Love

Mindful Nutrition - Stop telling people that no one will love them until they love themselves

“Stop telling people that no one will love them until they love themselves; stop planting the idea in people’s brain that they are unworthy of love because of their own struggle.”
—Jack Barakat

For years, I was told that my weight would not come off until I loved myself. But, for me, partly the weight was on because I did not know how. People kept telling me to love myself and the weight would come off. I didn’t. I know I didn’t. And, the thought of waiting until I knew how to, was so damn depressing. So, for me, this quote really resonated with me.

I took a few steps forward, didn’t hate myself as much and was able to grow more. I took a few more and things changed. A few more and then I started to like myself around the edges, then I was able to implement a bit of self love and understood more. Then, I would fall and the craziness would start all over again.

So, I love, love this quote. For me the path was not as straight and wonderful as just deciding to love myself.

Maybe yours isn’t either.

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in body image, depression, How to care for your body, mindful nutrition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

