Mindful Nutrition: Taking Care of Yourself While Traveling

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 10.07.37 AM

Hey everyone. Today I am going to start a series on healthful eating while away from home. For most people I know, clients and friends alike, this seems to be one of the sticking points. Staying “on your plan” while away is always a challenge. It is for ALL of us, myself included.

Sure, I know for most people, letting go and letting lose is good and brings about a sense of freedom and relaxation. For me though, when that happens around food, all of my past problems seem to resurface. When I do not eat the right foods for my body, I gain weight at a crazy rate. I also become very lethargic and whiney! I get acne (yes, even at 51 if you can believe it) and I get headaches that are so excruciating that I must medicate them which means I get a hangover the next day from the meds. So, for me, (and I am stressing that this is me and I am not judging you) staying on plan while away is really helpful.

Am I perfect every time? No. There are some trips that are harder then others. Also, I find that the more I work on this, the better I get. So, I have decided to share what I do in the hopes of being able to show tips and tricks I do that you might be able to take some ideas from.

Every year, my family and I take a trip to the beach. My husband teaches a course in Florida and my daughter and I tag along for some much needed sun and rest. It is a trip that we have done for 10 years now. So, I know the layout of the hotel, the restaurants and the hotel room. My husband is patient as this is the trip that I bring all of my stuff to cook. This is over the top! And…I can really take care of myself here. So, over the next few days I will show you how I am doing it.

Know that for me this is one of the easiest places to be able to take care of myself while traveling because I am familiar with the hotel and finally what to do after 10 years of coming here!

Is there anything in particular you want to see or know about? Send me a message and I will try to respond to all of your questions with examples.

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in travel food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

