Nutriciously: 6 Tips to stay Lean and Sane during the Holidays

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 12.30.36 PM– as told by a plant based food coach who is also a mom, a wife and is constantly juggling a million balls, in the air, at one time.

Ok, so we are in hardcore holiday mode now. Since Thanksgiving is over, the gloves are off. Christmas lights have come out in my neighborhood, and now the stores are unabashedly playing the carols. We have harking going on all over.

As the intensity climbs, one normally turns to different forms of comfort to come down off the excitement. After all, this season is different from any other time of year. There is spending, and traveling, and partying, and celebrating galore!

We need to settle down at some point. The problem is that when we need “extreme” food to do that, we pay for it dearly, long after the tree is boxed up for another year.

The Holiday-Food Connection

In the United States, it is common to link our holidays to food. Right? July 4th brings corn and apple pie, on Halloween it’s candy corn, Valentine’s day is about chocolate and it almost feels like you are “not celebrating” if you don’t partake of these foods.

Interesting how there is that link, don’t you think? December seems to be one of the worst times, where the parties extend over days, if not weeks.

So, rather then needing to abstain for an evening, you might feel like you are holding up a damn by saying no to the Christmas cookies, week after week, until eventually, that damn breaks.

Then, the party just begins and what I hear out of a lot of people, is that they will wait until after the new year to start on their plan… but that never comes, either because they are too ashamed or too discouraged to even start.

Does this sound familiar? This was me, for years. Until I learned to take care of myself during the holidays. Here are a few things I have done that I think might be able to help you too, and I share them with you in the hopes of saving you a few years of frustrating Januarys.

1. Go to a Party to Socialize

Yup! I don’t go for the butter toffee popcorn!

Before, I used to look forward to each party anticipating the hostess’s special food treat. I used to know my favorites at each stop! It didn’t matter who was there if there was my all time favorite, the pecan pie!

Now, I go to see the people. And, if the group isn’t to my liking, I don’t go. Have you ever realized that if you are somewhere that brings you stress, that you can eat over it? But, back to my point, going to a party for the party itself is a much better motivation for me.

Please click HERE to read the rest of the article.  

 

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Holiday Eating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nutriciously: 6 Tips to stay Lean and Sane during the Holidays

  1. talkcei says:

    You continue to inspire, Ana! Thanks for your insightful words.

    Have the happiest of holidays with your family. ☺

    Lori Martinet Communications Electronics Director of Marketing 1953 Greenspring Drive Timonium, MD 21093 O/F: 410.372.4933

    [CE Small Logo NO Bull2.jpg]

    Follow Us: [f_logo.jpg] [t_logo-a]

Leave a Reply

