Dehydrated Apples and Sweet Potatoes: Healthy Pet Treats

Do you have a “furry baby” in your family?  Do you care about what you feed them?  Me too!

We got a new puppy a few months ago who was untrained, mischievous and very food motivated. I had been buying her commercial treats.  Most of the treats out there have either grains or sugar or both.  As you may know already, both are quite toxic to dogs.

My choice was to go to a specialty high end dog store and pay a fortune or look for an alternative.  And then …TADA!  One day while looking at the dehydrator, I thought I would try out something new.

Dehydrated Apples and Sweet Potatoes!!  Both my furry babies (as well as the non furry one) absolutely love them.

Here is what I did. First, I sliced the sweet potatoes and apples on the mandolin.

Mindful_Nutrition-mandolin-1a

Not all of the slices made it to the dehydrator!  Some got stolen by my “non furry” baby 🙂

Mindful_Nutrition-apple-for-dehydrator-2a

Now place the slices of apples and sweet potatoes on the mesh screen on top of the trays.

Mindful_Nutrition-apples-dehydrator-3a

Set temperature at 110 and dehydrate for about 24 hours.  They should be crispy when you take them out.  Store in a zip lock bag.

Mindful_Nutrition-apples-sweet_potatoes-dehydrator-4a

My dogs (and my daughter) devour them.  Plus I feel good about giving them these treat  because it won’t hurt their delicate systems.

Try it out and let me know what you think!!

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Pet treats, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dehydrated Apples and Sweet Potatoes: Healthy Pet Treats

  1. LacySnow says:

    Do you know if you have more than one blog can others see those other blogs without you posting the site somewhere? love your blog btw.

Leave a Reply

