10 Simple Steps to Feel Good Now

Over the last few years I have shared tidbits on what has sent me into this journey to wellness. More on that later. But, just to mention a few… I was overweight, had acne, depression, low energy and other things that stopped me from optimally functioning. I have worked very, very hard to get myself to normal.

My family is going through a lot of pain right now. We have a very sick member that is not doing well. It is making me reassess everything. Believe me when I say that I look at my children every morning and pray for their wellbeing. (Pictured below.)

So, I am looking around at my life and checking in to see what is working and what is not. I thought I would share with you some of the habits I have incorporated that have healed me. Each month, I do more and more to help myself feel better, get more vibrant, reduce stress and inflammation. What I have been healing is similar to others for sure. So, I am hoping some of these things will inspire you.

1. Lower Toxic Load

Now, this is a journey. It started with just a change up in toothpaste. I have extended that to now I use a different soap and body lotion. I had heard once that dishwashing liquid is one of the most toxic substances and stays on the dishes long after its used. YUCK!!! So, now I only use non toxic brands. I could go on and on, but you get it.

2. Soak Raw Nuts

For at least 12 hours, I soak nuts in a bowl covered with water before I eat them.

3. Eat Early Dinner

I find that when I eat dinner later, I will be too hungry and then not at choice when it comes to mealtime. I also find that if I wait too long, I will need to eat and eat until I have my meal and then have no appetite for that meal. So, sometimes I will eat my dinner ridiculously early. What about my family you say? Well, I sit down with them when they eat their meal and either have my salad then or just keep them company. I have found that taking care of my food needs at the timing that works for me, does not effect my love time with my daughter and husband when I feed them dinner. They don’t even realize!

4. Eliminate Grains

Some of you know that I have been eating more and more raw as time goes on. More on that later. One of the most difficult things though, was that I was addicted to grains. About a year and a half ago, I was able to release them. Being grain free has helped me eliminate a lot of health problems that were still hanging on, as well as release some weight. Isn’t this journey cool? Always growing, learning and changing!

5. Make Fresh Salad Dressings

This is huge because I do eat a TON of salads. Here is my recipe for Vegan Dill Tahini Dressing and check out a 15 page Free Preview of my Balanced Bodies: Vegan Cookbook for more dairy-free, gluten-free, and dairy-free recipes.

6. Find Inspiration Every Day

The way I stay connected to my path and this wellness journey I am, is to connect every day with source. I look at teachers that have inspired me, blogs, youtube, books…. anything to show me a higher level and help me to grow.

7. Smoothie for Breakfast

This has helped me immensely with satiety, cravings and mental stability. In other words, my smoothies keep me satisfied and craving free for hours. If yours don’t, you have got to talk to me!

8. Dry Body Brush

This is an aryuvedic technique. It requires a natural bristle brush and you basically brush your skin BEFORE the shower. This gets rid of dead skin and is supposed to reduce cellulite and help with circulation. I don’t know all of the intricacies, but I can tell you that it makes me feel good and when I get out of the shower, I really feel clean.

9. Keep My Eyes On My Own Plate

I don’t judge what others eat and don’t care what they think about my plate. Period. I do what I can to make myself feel better and better. What others do, does not effect me.

10. Drink Hot Lemon Water in the Morning

This helps me stay alkaline, help me with cravings, rehydrates my body, helps with skin tone and on and on. Sometimes I go fancy and mix in some parsley or ginger. To make it simpler and quicker in the morning, I blend up lemons and parsley and put them in ice cube trays. Then, in the morning, I just add hot water.

These are all simple things I have done to change up my habits and improve my health. They have made enormous differences in all aspects of my life. This did not happen over night though. I have transitioned. As the years go by, I have done different things and improved on the last. Now I do things I thought were impossible just a few months ago.

And, you know what? The older I get, the younger I feel.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 8.04.45 AM

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

