Don’t Judge My Food

terrified-man“That’s what you are eating? Where is your protein? That can’t be healthy.”

One of the biggest issues my clients come in with is dealing with those around them. Pulling out a healthy salad at lunch, they are accosted by someone with a roast beef sandwich telling them they aren’t eating well and challenging what they are doing.

What is it about eating well that makes inappropriate and entitled to judge? Seems like little else creates such a surge of defensiveness. (Well, maybe religion, race, economic disparity, ha I could go on) Inevitably, the client feels self conscious and will reach for a bag of chips to appease the nay sayer. Yeah, that makes them both feel better.

I deal with this issue a lot. Having had weight and disordered eating in the past, these situations throw me and create a bit of stress unless I am able to diffuse them. I have quite a few tricks that work for me. One of my big ones is that inside I just tell myself, “that is not my food.” Another good one is “if I eat like that, I will look like that.”

I came across a great quote from someone who is a genius in the field and who has written some amazing books. He said, “I realize that I’m 100 percent responsible for everything that I put into, and eliminate from, my body. Some people may feel offended, threatened, spiteful, or frustrated toward how I’ve decided to live, but such feelings are reactionary, irrational, and will pass with time. I would rather hurt a few feelings than suffer the consequences of eating materials that I do not need and know will ultimately harm me.” Professor Spira

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Eating Out, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

