You DO Have Power Over Your Health

MindfulNutrition-obesity

“It’s genetic, there is nothing I can do about it!”

Goodness!! If I had a dollar for each client that has said that to me…. well you know the rest. (I could really use a new summer wardrobe though!!)

My genetics say things about me too! I come from a history of diabetes and cancer. I have a beloved grandmother who was morbidly obese. When I say morbidly, I mean it. I am like her, tending towards sadness, and as many of you know, was very heavy up into my 20’s. So, when someone says to me that they are “genetically predisposed” I get it!!!

Here is the thing though….I saw how my grandmother suffered. No amount of love from me could help her feel better about herself or her predicament. Her movements were quite restricted and she had such a hard life. Clothes had to be bought at the “lady stores” which, 40 years ago, carried with it a ton of shame. I could go on and on… but what I want to most stress is that I made a DECISION that my life would not be like that. In the face of my impending future, I said “no.”

My journey is so long and complex and meant for another time. What I want to get to today is the idea of genetics and how we DO have power over our future.

Hormones, genes and enzymes are all being turned on or off based on what is around our body and what we are putting in our body. This means that most of the time, we are “at choice” with what is being activated and what is being suppressed. Does that make sense? It means that there is hope, that we are not predestined to live out medical issues that are in our lineage.

Think I am not telling the truth? The medical community is so interested in how we are at choice that there is now a whole science call Nutrigenomics that is studying this phenomena. Yes my friend, do you believe now?

What you put in your mouth, turns genes and hormones on or off depending on their quality. Over time, this adds up and creates the health condition you are in now. So, I guess this is good news and bad news right? You create your health but you also create your health.

When you choose foods that are “close to the ground” and are nutritious to the body, good genes are activated, hormones have an easier time balancing and you don’t need to use up so many of the stored enzymes as this food comes with it’s own source.

We can change our destiny in many ways. We can make different life choices and we can make different health choices. I am among those that has to choose every day. I am not “naturally thin.” I am not “naturally” healthy. In fact, the reason I got into this line of work is because I do tend towards being heavy and having health issues. Each day, each meal, sometimes moment to moment, I am choosing to live. I am choosing who I want to be. I am choosing to be healthy, vibrant and thrive. I am choosing to be a positive coach, a mom with an open and empathic heart, a wife who is patient and giving. When my head is in a bag of M&M’s, I am not that!

Thought you should all know about this science and it’s new theories on our health. I think we would all be better off keeping it on the forefront of our minds. We are at choice….we are at choice…we are at choice…I choose life.

~   ~   ~

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please contact me if you have any questions or would like to set up a consultation.

 

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Cancer, obesity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

