Dealing with “Push Back” Against Your Healthful Choices

Loose Tea

Often, I hear from clients that even the small steps they are making towards a healthier lifestyle is causing upset among their family and friends and even worse, some get “push back”. It is sad that people don’t see your progress and congratulate the heck out of you and support your efforts. We all agree that we want those around us to last a long time. So what is that “push back”?!

Personally, I deal with this a lot. Even when I first started changing the food I was eating, I got teased by friends that I was eating “sticks and twigs.” This was mainly because I was drinking loose tea and it just grew. I was horribly teased and sometimes that would affect my behavior where I would actually eat the pizza to show that I wasn’t crazy.

Now, that is insanity.

Slowly, slowly, I started to see that what I was doing was sane. The pizza, the chicken wings and the chips were making me sick. Like a veil being removed I started to figure out what worked for me and what made my body feel its best.

People have pockets filled with meds, eat at fast food places and are getting sicker and sicker. Rather than judge, as they had judged me, I listen to the health issues and have sympathy.

I choose life. I choose vitality. I choose a life without medication. I choose to eat foods that give me as much healing as possible. If that is “crazy” – sign me up. What we are doing here is counter-culture, sure. Throughout history there are those that spoke the truth and were ridiculed.

Without pushing hard, without overstating, what I want is to heal myself and if others want to come onboard, great. The truth is that my food choices don’t affect anyone else. There is a calm that comes over me when I realize that.

Now, when I get “push back” from others around me, I can smile, knowing that for me, I have chosen what works best. I do not have to please others by eating crap. If I eat a burger to make the person sitting next to me feel better, I still don’t change a thing other than my health. I suffer. Why suffer for others to feel better. Hasn’t that been done enough?

Make sense?

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Healthful Food Choices, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

