10 Things You May Not Believe About My Home Cooking

mindfulnutrition_kitchen-utensilsBurnt food, rotting lettuce and under cooked rice!

So often, I talk with people who never cook in their kitchen. I think it is a mixture of fear, resentment and just plain old “not knowing where to start.” The problem though, is that if we don’t learn to cook our own food, we go to refined or restaurant food. Bless the manufacturers and owners of these places, but they don’t make food that healthy!!!
The main way to start on the road to wellness, is to be responsible for your own food. I am so sorry to say there are no short cuts.

No one is perfect here!! I don’t cook and have magic happen. There are mistakes, botched recipes and food that falls on the floor. While this may discourage some, I know this to be “de rigor!” I think this type of “allowing” gives me confidence in the kitchen and the ability to experiment.

Here are 10 things you may not believe about my home cooking!!

1. I burn things! And you know what? That is fine! I learn for next time, and I am okay with that.

2. Not everything is loved by my family. Trying new recipes means they might not like it. I am ok with that. I would rather try new things then fall into a rut.

3. THINGS GO BAD!! Sooooo many clients say they don’t buy produce because it goes bad. Really?! The things that DON’T go bad aren’t fit for human consumption. The idea is to eat things that do rot on their own accord. It’s ok. What about wasting money?! Start a compost pile – that is what eases my mind. I am not saying you should be foolishly buying produce you don’t need, that would be a waste of the earth’s precious resources. What I am saying is that I would rather you have produce in your frig.

4. I do not make complicated recipes for daily use. No….. I am a working mommy. I have my own private practice, a 9 year old, a sweet dog and a lovely husband. Each one of them takes 16 hours of my day!! So, the meals I make are mostly simple, a few ingredients and no recipe-ed.

5. I alter recipes. So, sometimes I see a recipe that is complicated, and I simplify it. Sometimes I see a recipe that has ingredients I don’t use and I alter that too! It’s great to tweak and experiment.

6. I just get the food in the pot!!! I don’t worry about being perfect. I make soups out of what I have in the refrigerator. If you start with onions, celery and carrots, you can make just about any recipe.

7. There is a trick to my salad making! I need salads every day, yes, every day. So, just know that I don’t come home at 5:30 with a cranky kid and start cutting vegetables… no. Every few days, I cut up some “hard” vegetables. That could be raw cauliflower, purple cabbage, carrots…. I cut these into fine pieces and stick it in a tupperware. Then, every day, I open a bag of washed lettuces and put a handful or two of the chopped veggies on top!! Easie peezie lemon squeezie!

8. I steal!!! Oh yeah…. I do. When a friend tells me they cooked something incredible, I do it too!! Love hearing about others in the kitchen.

9. I cook with the future in mind. I cook doubles or triples of EVERYTHING. Leftovers are my friend. I freeze soups, fruit pies and veggie burgers. I use freezer bags or t Tupperware I love my Tupperware. I use it all the time!!

10. I figure out dinner at breakfast. I get up and figure out dinner in the morning. I know what I have, I pull from the freezer, I look at my produce drawer. If I wait till I get home, I am too hungry, too tired and will graze until I can figure it out. That’s a recipe for disaster.

I had a wonderful cooking teacher at the Gingko Leaf in Los Angeles who gave me the “permission” to drop, burn and throw food away. It was a beautiful lesson in lessening the preciousness of “the perfect recipe” and just getting the food down my gullet! I wish you all that kind of freedom and love in your kitchens.

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in cooking at home, Parenting, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

