Mindful Nutrition: Busy Parents/Healthy Kids – SODA

Mindful Nutrition - Busy Parents/Healthy Kids

I want Mountain Dew like the other kids!!!!

Imagine my horror to hear those curdling sounds coming from my daughter, my baby. What blasphemy! What a slap in the face!

So, pulling myself up by my big girl panties, I turned lovingly to my daughter, and asked if she would be willing to make some instead. Amazingly, she said yes.

We got a big bottle, filled it a bit with sparkling water. I gave her some liquid stevia and some lemon and she went to town. She added both until she came up with the concoction that she liked.

It was incredible!!!

But, then she wanted me to taste it. Ha! Reluctantly, I took a sip, and you know what? It wasn’t bad. Better yet, SHE liked it and it avoided the conversation about sodas and high fructose corn syrup, colorings, blah blah blah…

The trick, I think, was giving her the control. Letting her have the power and giving her the ingredients to play with,changed the game.

Lesson learned, catastrophe avoided, and since she did all the work, it was easy peezy lemon squeezie!!!

About Ana Goldseker

I am a whole foods coach specializing in weight loss. I help people with food addictions and building a food plan that works for them. Please visit my website at www.mindfulnutrition.net for more information.
This entry was posted in Busy Parents, Healthy Kids, mindful nutrition, Parenting, Soda and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

